Arduino Mega Shield Template in Eagle – Improved!

Exactly one year ago I made a blank shield template for my Arduino designs. I’ve had the opportunity to use it several times. It was OK, a serviceable starting point for Arduino-based projects. I’ve just recently made improvements that will help speed up the design process:

  • Signal names match names in the Arduino silk screen

  • Top layer has a copper pour for the +5v circuit

  • Added a frame to the schematic

  • Arranged all Arduino connections on the right-hand side of the schematic page.

image

These are small changes, but they make a big difference in your ability to organize and check your design effort.

image

For instance, I like my circuits to “read” from left to right. For me this is less confusing than other formatting choices. As for signal names, other shields cobbled from the Arduino reference design often preserve the Atmel signal names, rather than the signal names from the Arduino Hardware Description web pages. I hope these files work for you.

Get the files here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?1z98ws4wyh232d6

~ by ratdad on January 2, 2012.

2 Responses to “Arduino Mega Shield Template in Eagle – Improved!”

  1. Thanks a bunch, great template!

  2. […] with a template made by someone else, no use re-inventing the wheel. I used the one found here https://circuitfun.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/arduino-mega-shield-template-in-eagle-improved/, which I must say is very good!  I then added parts to meet my requirements. I added connectors […]

Leave a Reply

 
